Delhi Capitals

The Delhi Capitals (DC), formerly known as the Delhi Daredevils, is a franchise cricket team based in Delhi, India, which plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team was founded in 2008 as one of the eight founding teams of the IPL. The team is jointly owned by the GMR Group and the JSW Group. The team’s home ground is the Arun Jaitley Stadium, located in New Delhi. The team underwent a rebranding in 2018, changing its name from the Delhi Daredevils to the Delhi Capitals. The Delhi Capitals have had a mixed performance history in the IPL, often finishing in the lower half of the league standings.


The Delhi Capitals have had several notable successes in their history. In the 2009 IPL season, they finished first in the league stage, though they were unable to convert this into a championship win. They repeated this feat in 2012, once again finishing first in the league stage. The team’s most significant achievement came in the 2020 IPL season, when they finished as runners-up, their best performance in the tournament to date. This was a significant turnaround for the team, which had struggled in the preceding years. The team’s performance in 2020 was a testament to their resilience and ability to bounce back from adversity.

Low Point

Despite their successes, the Delhi Capitals have also faced several low points. The team has often struggled to convert strong league stage performances into championship wins. For instance, despite finishing first in the league stage in 2009 and 2012, the team was unable to win the championship in either year. The team also had a particularly difficult period from 2011 to 2018, where they often finished in the lower half of the league standings. The 2011 season was particularly disappointing, with the team finishing last in the league stage. This period was marked by inconsistent performances and a failure to perform at key moments.