Punjab Kings

The Punjab Kings, also known by their abbreviation PBKS, are a professional franchise cricket team based in Mohali, Punjab, India. They compete in the Indian Premier League (IPL), one of the most prestigious cricket tournaments globally. The team was established in 2008 as the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and underwent a name change to Punjab Kings in 2021.The franchise is jointly owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul. The team plays its home matches at the PCA Stadium, Mohali, and occasionally at Dharamsala or Indore. The team’s logo, featuring a roaring lion, stands as a symbol of strength, courage, and royalty.


The Punjab Kings’ pinnacle came in the 2014 IPL season when they topped the league table and reached the final. In this season, PBKS showcased their potential by topping the league table and reaching the final for the first time in their history. This achievement was a result of a balanced bowling lineup and effective top order. Despite losing to the Kolkata Knight Riders in the final, their performance throughout the season was commendable and marked a significant milestone in their IPL journey.

Low Point

The team’s low point was arguably the 2010 controversy that led to the termination of their franchise contract. This incident stemmed from a dispute between the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the then IPL commissioner Lalit Modi over the ownership structure of the franchise. The team was expelled from the league, a significant blow to their reputation and morale. However, they managed to return to the league after taking legal action and negotiating a solution. Another low point for the team has been their inconsistent performance in the IPL. Despite having a strong team on paper, PBKS has often struggled to perform consistently and has only made the playoffs twice in their history.