T20 World Cup 2024 Teams Full List

The T20 World Cup 2024 marks the tournament’s ninth edition, a biennial T20I competition among men’s national teams organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). Hosted by the West Indies and the United States from June 4 to June 30, 2024, this event will be historic as it introduces matches played in the United States, a first for an ICC World Cup.

Expanding from 16 teams in the 2022 tournament, the T20 World Cup 2024 Teams edition will feature participation from 20 teams. England holds the title of defending champions. Automatic qualification was granted to the top eight teams from the previous tournament, and two additional teams secured their spots based on the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings. The remaining eight teams earned their places through a regional qualification process. Notably, Canada, Uganda, and the United States have achieved qualification for the T20 World Cup for the first time in their cricket history.

Global Teams and Qualification Process

Twelve teams, including hosts West Indies and the USA, earned direct qualification, while Afghanistan and Bangladesh secured spots based on world rankings. Eight more teams qualified through regional tournaments, showcasing the global appeal of T20 cricket.

T20 World Cup 2024 Teams

West IndiesHosts
United StatesHosts
Australia2022 T20 World Cup top-eight finish
India2022 T20 World Cup top-eight finish
England2022 T20 World Cup top-eight finish
Netherlands2022 T20 World Cup top-eight finish
New Zealand2022 T20 World Cup top-eight finish
Pakistan2022 T20 World Cup top-eight finish
South Africa2022 T20 World Cup top-eight finish
Sri Lanka2022 T20 World Cup top-eight finish
AfghanistanNext best on T20I rankings (as of 14 November 2022)
BangladeshNext best on T20I rankings (as of 14 November 2022)
CanadaAmericas qualifier
IrelandEurope qualifier
NamibiaAfrica qualifier
NepalAsia qualifier
OmanAsia qualifier
Papua New GuineaEast Asia-Pacific qualifier
ScotlandEurope qualifier
UgandaAfrica qualifier

African Qualifiers Seal the Deal

Uganda and Namibia secured their spots during the African region qualifiers, with Uganda making history as the fifth African nation to participate. The final match saw Uganda triumph over Rwanda by nine wickets, marking their first-ever T20 World Cup qualification.

T20 World Cup 2024 Teams Super Eight Phase and Venue Details

The tournament structure includes a Super Eight phase, where top teams from groups progress. Matches will be held across seven Caribbean venues and three in the US, including Dallas, Florida, and New York, adding a diverse and dynamic element to the event.

Historic Moments and New Entrants

Uganda’s historic qualification, beating former powerhouse Zimbabwe, adds a captivating narrative to the 2024 edition. With diverse teams, including first-time entrants like the United States, the tournament promises fresh energy and unpredictability.

T20 World Cup 2024 Teams Conclusion

The T20 World Cup 2024 emerges as a global spectacle, blending historic achievements, diverse teams, and an intriguing tournament structure. Cricket enthusiasts can anticipate an unforgettable June filled with thrilling T20 action across the Caribbean and the United States.